October πŸŽƒ

Nyob Zoo (hello in hmong)

Since of COVID-19 a lot of changes have been made at schools, homes, stores, and holidays. Adapting to changes can be stressful, overwhelming, and a bit depressing. Everything nowadays is virtually through a computer or phone and most students spend hours staring at a computer. I constantly have to rotate the places I sit when having class and doing homework. It can be hard at times to concentrate if I am in the same setting. A few methods I follow for myself to make my days a little better, I always make my bed in the mornings to start my day organized and less lazy: I plan my breakfast, lunch, and dinner the day before so I know what to have to cook, I sat a workout routine for the week, and I try to go outside every day with keeping a distance of others.
Being at home has left me time to reflect on myself and worked on making new goals. I am recently starting to write my song on the guitar and I am excited to see where that leads me. I am also reteaching myself how to play the violin, I use to play it back when I was in middle school but unfortunately, the band teacher left and I stopped playing it. My family doesn’t stay behind, we have decided to learn a song altogether and I cant wait to see the outcome.


I currently still participate in the mentor program at River Falls. It has been complicated to interact with my mentees virtually. But the program has been doing great with activity hosted online and overall the school campus is doing awesome work as well. Activities so far that have been done virtually have been bingo, craft activities, and talent shows. With difficult times like these, we need each other for support and encouragement. I am glad I am helping others along with others helping me.
So far our school is treating COVID-19 very seriously. We get tested every 2 weeks and get our result that same day. I must say I dislike having the swab in the nose testing, it is a discomfort to my nose since it is not used to the small pain. But it is for the good of all so I suck it up. For our dorms, we are not allowed to bring any guest inside, and not even our neighbors living inside the same building are allowed. For our dining area, students are required to get a GO TO container, which is a plastic container to put food of your choice to take out. Our school recycles those containers so we get clean ones every day. We mainly are very separated from others and we go back to our dorms after class if there is no class schedule for you that day.


For this Halloween, my family and I decided to make spooky baskets. Which are baskets that contain some goodies, daily necessities, beauty products, etc. In a way is like Christmas since you give these spooky baskets to a designated person. How we organized is we put all of the participants’ names in a small bowl and everyone pulls out a name. Whoever you get, that’s the person you make the basket for. You then decide when you want to give the basket to the specific person. We decided to wait until Halloween.

Until Next Time!

-Jennifer

Leave a comment